{"id":1719,"date":"2021-03-01T09:47:10","date_gmt":"2021-03-01T09:47:10","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/?page_id=1719"},"modified":"2021-03-01T16:40:36","modified_gmt":"2021-03-01T16:40:36","slug":"interactive-map","status":"publish","type":"page","link":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/","title":{"rendered":"Interactive Map"},"content":{"rendered":"<div id=\"mapplic-id1725\" data-mapdata=\"{&quot;mapwidth&quot;:&quot;1440&quot;,&quot;mapheight&quot;:&quot;2032&quot;,&quot;minimap&quot;:false,&quot;clearbutton&quot;:true,&quot;zoombuttons&quot;:true,&quot;sidebar&quot;:true,&quot;search&quot;:true,&quot;hovertip&quot;:true,&quot;mousewheel&quot;:true,&quot;fullscreen&quot;:false,&quot;deeplinking&quot;:false,&quot;mapfill&quot;:true,&quot;zoom&quot;:true,&quot;alphabetic&quot;:false,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;tooltip&quot;,&quot;categories&quot;:[],&quot;levels&quot;:[{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Hsmc_Map&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Hsmc Map&quot;,&quot;map&quot;:&quot;\/\/hsmcdigshistory.imgix.net\/wp-content\/uploads\/2021\/03\/HSMC_Map-web-e1465595653485.jpg&quot;,&quot;minimap&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;locations&quot;:[{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;St._Johns_Site_Museum&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;St. John&#039;s Site Museum&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/St.-Johns-Site-Museum1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/St.-Johns-Site-Museum1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;St. John&#039;s was one of the first major plantations in Maryland, established in 1638. Built by the colony&#039;s first Secretary of State, John Lewger, St. John&#039;s was a meeting place for the colonial legislature, later the home of Governor Charles Calvert, and, finally, a major public inn.   Today, its remarkably well-preserved archaeological remains are visible inside a modern exhibit building, along with some of the million artifacts  discovered here.   Exhibits introduce St. John&#039;s occupants, describe Maryland&#039;s contributions to U.S. history, and illustrate how archaeologist and historians know what they know about the past.n &lt;br \/&gt;n&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/map\/st-johns-site\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.6070&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.0327&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Freedom_of_Conscience_Statue&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Freedom of Conscience Statue&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/freedom-of-conscience1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/freedom-of-conscience1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;This Monument, installed for the celebration of Maryland&#039;s 300th birthday in 1934, recognizes one of the colony&#039;s major contributions to American society-- the first stirrings of religious freedom.&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.4099&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.0951&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Trinity_Church&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Trinity Church &quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Trinity-Church1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Trinity-Church1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Using bricks from the original 1676 State House, a new church was built here in the early 1830&#039;s. This Episcopal Church, the heart of an active parish named for William and Mary, has undergone modifications since its construction but retains a sense of the 19th-century building. Certain elements of its interior are made of pieces of the ancient Mulberry Tree. Its cemetery holds many of the people who lived at St. Mary&#039;s City over the past three centuries. Visitors are welcome. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.2182&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.1631&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Sir_Copley_Burial_Vault&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Sir Copley Burial Vault&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/sir-copley-burial-vault1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/sir-copley-burial-vault1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Buried in this brick vault are Maryland&#039;s first Royal Governor and his wife. Sir Lionel Copley and family arrived in early 1692 but wife Ann died early the following year and Copley died in September of 1693. Both were buried in lead coffins, with the assumption they would be shipped back to England. This never happened and the pair was formally buried here with much ceremony in July 1694, the first graves in this area. The brick vault is marked by a granite outline and a monument with a brass plaque. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.1670&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.1699&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Leonard Calvert Monument&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Leonard Calvert Monument&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/leonard-calvert-monument2.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/leonard-calvert-monument2.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;A tall granite monument dedicated to Maryland&#039;s first governor Leonard Calvert stands here.   Marylanders erected it here in 1890, in the place where an ancient mulberry tree once stood.   This tree is significant for in Maryland legend, it was the place where Governor Calvert negotiated with the chief of the Yaocomico village in late March of 1634 to acquire the land upon which the colony was founded.   The Mulberry survived into the 1870&#039;s, a venerated witness to Maryland&#039;s beginning.  &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.1195&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.1611&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Original_State_House_Site&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Original State House Site&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Original-STATE-HOUSE-SITE1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Original-STATE-HOUSE-SITE1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Construction of the first formal State House for the colony of Maryland began in 1674 and was finished in 1676.  Of brick and two stories in height, the State House was one of the most impressive buildings in 17th-century Maryland. When the government moved to Annapolis in 1695, this building was given to the Church of England and served as Trinity Church until 1830, when it was demolished. The foundations of the original building are indicated by granite markers. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.1977&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.2013&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;State House of 1676&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;State House of 1676&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/The-State-House-of-16761.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/The-State-House-of-16761.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Reconstructed 1676 State House: &lt;span style=\\&quot;font-weight: 400\\&quot;&gt;Built for Marylandu2019s 300th anniversary in 1934, the State House is a reconstruction of the 1676 original. Because the original site is part of the active cemetery at Trinity church, the Howard family donated the adjacent property for its reconstruction. Using the only detailed 17th-century construction document known from the Chesapeake region, craftsmen reconstructed the State House as authentically as possible, resurrecting this symbol of Lord Baltimore&#039;s government.&lt;\/span&gt;&lt;span style=\\&quot;font-weight: 400\\&quot;&gt; &lt;\/span&gt;&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.2594&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.2087&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;HSMC_Archaeology_Labs and_Offices_at_Anne_Arundel_Hall&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;HSMC Archaeology Labs and Offices at Anne Arundel Hall&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.3631&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.2129&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Gallows_Green_of_1680&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Gallows Green of 1680&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Gallows-Green1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Gallows-Green1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;In 1681, the land here was resurveyed and given the name Gallows Green. A number of prisoners were executed in this highly-visible location, including the only witch killed in Maryland, hung in 1686. After 1800, this area became a private cemetery for the Mackall, Ashcome and Brome families. Some of their tombstones still survive. &lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.4741&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.2047&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Campus Center&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;SMCM Campus Center&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Campus-Center1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Campus-Center1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;St. Mary&#039;s College of Maryland, neighbor to Historic St. Mary&#039;s City, &lt;\/a&gt; welcomes visitors to the Great Room (cafeteria), The Daily Grind (cafe and convenience store), and the SMCM Campus Store.&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.5248&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.1917&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Margaret Brent Pavilion&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Margaret Brent Pavilion&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;The open-air pavilion is available to rent for weddings, rehearsal dinners, family celebrations, and business events. For rental information, contact hsmcc.events@maryland.gov.&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.2991&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.2594&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Farthing_Ordinary&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Farthing&#039;s Ordinary&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/The-Shop-at-Farthings1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/The-Shop-at-Farthings1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Standing on a lot once owned by Chancellor Philip Calvert, Farthing&#039;s Ordinary is a recreation of a late 1600&#039;s public inn. It was built in 1983, based on examples of colonial architecture from elsewhere in Maryland. Farthing&#039;s now serves as a restaurant, &lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.angelikaskitchen.com\/\\&quot;&gt;Angelika&#039;s Kitchen&lt;\/a&gt;. Restroom facilities and a picnic area. &lt;br \/&gt;n&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/shop\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.3019&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.2943&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Coffee_House_Ghost_Frame&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Coffee House Ghost Frame&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Coffee-House-Ghost-Frame1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Coffee-House-Ghost-Frame1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;In his will, Garrett Van Sweringen left his Inn and \\&quot;Coffee House\\&quot; to his son.  Archaeologists found this outbuilding had unusual features and artifacts that suggest it was a coffee house. Van Sweringen was a creative entrepreneur and his coffee house was one of the first in English America. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.3897&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.3287&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Van_Sweringen_Inn&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Van Sweringen&#039;s Inn&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Van-Sweringen-Inn1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Van-Sweringen-Inn1-150x150.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;The fanciest hotel in 17th-century Maryland was created by Dutch immigrant Garrett Van Sweringen.   The kitchen and cellar of this complex have been reconstructed and a simulation of the original inn built here as a museum exhibit. Van Sweringen sired a large family with descendants found throughout the United States today. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.3274&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.3421&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Margaret_Brent_Gazebo&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Margaret Brent Gazebo&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Margaret-Brent-Gazebo1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Margaret-Brent-Gazebo1-150x150.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;For the 350th anniversary of Maryland in 1984, the St. Mary&#039;s County Garden Club provided funds for a Gazebo overlooking the St. Mary&#039;s River. Named in honor of prominent early settler Margaret Brent, the first woman known to have requested a vote in America (1648), the Gazebo provides a shady resting place and is often used for weddings. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.2951&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.3638&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Cordea_Hope&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Cordea&#039;s Hope&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Cordeas-Hope1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Cordeas-Hope1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;During the year 1674, French immigrant Mark Cordea acquired this lot, named it Cordea&#039;s Hope, and built a structure on it.  The lack of a fireplace and other evidence suggest it was used as a storehouse and office. Cordea was a merchant and an alderman on the city council. The reconstructed storehouse serves as a living history exhibit about merchant activities in early Maryland. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.4574&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.3735&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Leonard_Calvert_House_Site&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Leonard Calvert House Site&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Leonard-Calvert-House1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Leonard-Calvert-House1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Built by Maryland&#039;s first Governor, the Calvert House witnessed virtually the entire 17th-century history of St. Mary&#039;s City. It was surrounded by Pope&#039;s Fort in 1645, the only direct physical evidence of the English Civil War in America. In 1662, the colony purchased it as Maryland&#039;s first State House, renaming it The Country&#039;s House because it was owned by the Country. When the Brick State House was finished in 1676, this facility continued as the largest public inn in Maryland. Archaeologists are currently excavating this area to learn more. &lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.4133&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.3872&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Smiths Ordinary and Outbuilding&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Smith&#039;s Ordinary and Outbuilding&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Smiths-Ordinary-and-outbuilding1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Smiths-Ordinary-and-outbuilding1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;William Smith built a structure here in 1667 to serve as a public inn or ordinary.  He died before it was finished.  The first known innkeeper was Garrett Van Sweringen.  He improved and doubled the size of the structure, operating a profitable inn.  But in 1678, a fire in the night destroyed the building and nearly all of its contents.  Following intensive excavation, Smith&#039;s Ordinary has been rebuilt as an exhibit about public inns. n&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/map\/town-center\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.4171&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4248&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Print_House&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Print House&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Print-House1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Print-House1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;In the 1680&#039;s, after Smith&#039;s Ordinary burned, Garrett Van Sweringen obtained this lot.  The structure he built reflected Dutch architecture and may have been intended to be a public inn. However, discovery of many pieces of printing type shows that Maryland&#039;s first printer, William Nuthead, operated his press here for some time.   Faithfully reconstructed after meticulous archaeology and analysis, it is a living history exhibit about the craft of printing in the colony. n &lt;br \/&gt;n&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/research\/archaeology\/print-house\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.4058&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4547&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Town_Center_Ghost_Frames&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Town Center Ghost Frames&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Town-Center-ghost-frames1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Town-Center-ghost-frames1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;These three dimensional wooden outlines of 17th-century buildings are placeholders for museum interpretation. Archaeology reveals that  ca. 1660-1700 buildings stood in this location.  Until the sites are explored more fully, these ghost Frames show where a 17th-century building once stood. Dozens of additional ghost frames could be placed over known sites at St. Mary&#039;s City.&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.4886&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4366&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;1634_Cannon&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;1634 Cannon&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/1634-cannon1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/1634-cannon1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt; Among the only surviving artifacts from the very beginning of Maryland are cannons bought by Lord Baltimore in 1633 and carried to Maryland on the Ark or the Dove. These weapons were first mounted in the 1634 fort and later carried to another fort. They were found in the St. Mary&#039;s River in 1824. This tube is classified as a Demiculvern, one of four Lord Baltimore purchased to defend his colony. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.6065&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4225&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Mackall_Barn&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Mackall Barn&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Mackall-Barn1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Mackall-Barn1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;This is the oldest standing building in St. Mary&#039;s City.  Tree-ring dating of its timbers tell us it was built in the year 1785.  Its architecture reveals clues to its changing functions over the past 200 years.  Used as a granary and tobacco barn, today this barn is a museum exhibit about architecture and what happened at St. Mary&#039;s City after the capital moved away in 1695.  &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.6417&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4422&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Chapel_Interpretive_Pavilion&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Chapel Interpretive Pavilion&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Chapel-Interpretive-Pavilion1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Chapel-Interpretive-Pavilion1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Signage in the Chapel Pavilion describes the archaeology and reconstruction of the Brick Chapel of 1667 and Maryland&#039;s legacy of religious toleration.  Learn about Father Andrew White&#039;s first chapel, Maryland&#039;s largest 17th-century cemetery,  and the discovery of three rare lead coffins. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.7370&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4418&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Brick Chapel of 1667&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Brick Chapel of 1667&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/chapel-1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/chapel-1-288x228.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;The first major brick building the colonists erected in Maryland was the Brick Chapel.  Built by the Jesuits, it operated from ca. 1667 to 1704, when the government ordered its doors locked.  Demolished by 1725, years of archaeology and research have allowed the reconstruction of this significant building.  It is the most powerful symbol of Lord Baltimore&#039;s revolutionary policy of Liberty of Conscience.  &lt;br \/&gt;n&lt;a href=\\&quot;\/research\/archaeology\/chapel\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.8412&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4261&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Woodland_Indian_Hamlet&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Woodland Indian Hamlet&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Woodland-Indian-Hamlet1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Woodland-Indian-Hamlet1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;The Woodland Indian Hamlet represents a Yacocomico community similar to those that existed along the St. Mary&#039;s River in the early 17th century. Constructed using archaeological evidence, historical research, and Indigenous knowledge, the site offers insight into daily life before and during the arrival of the English in 1634. Explore traditional homes, gardens, and work areas while learning about farming, fishing, hunting, trade, and the knowledge that sustained Indigenous communities for generations.&lt;br \/&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/map\/woodland-indian-hamlet\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.6336&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.4951&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Visitor_Center_Auditorium&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Visitor Center Auditorium&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Visitor-Center-auditorium1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Visitor-Center-auditorium1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;HSMC&#039;s auditorium offers a venue for indoor events.  &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.6771&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.5496&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Visitor_Center_Exhibition_Gallery&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Visitor Center Exhibition Gallery&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Visitor-Center-Exhibition-Gallery1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Visitor-Center-Exhibition-Gallery1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Tour the exhibit &lt;em&gt;\\&quot;. . .once the Metropolis\\&quot;&lt;\/em&gt; to view artifacts recovered from the site and find out what they tell us about life in the colonial capital. Artifacts recovered from the Brick Chapel of 1667 are also on display. &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.7095&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.5416&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Visitor_Center&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Visitor Center&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Visitor-Center1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Visitor-Center1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Begin your visit to HSMC here! Buy tickets, grab a Visitor Guide and map, and find out about special activities happening each day. A ten-minute introductory film provides background on the significance of St. Mary&#039;s City and all there is to see and do while you&#039;re here.  Find restrooms, drinking fountains, and picnic areas in the complex and its environs.&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.7247&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.5739&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Artisan_Barn&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Artisan Barn&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Artisan-Barn1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Artisan-Barn1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt; Museum storage facility.  The style of the building is an example of traditional timber frame construction.&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.7985&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.5540&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Struggle_for_Freedom&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Struggle for Freedom Exhibit&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Slave-Tenant-Quarter1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Slave-Tenant-Quarter1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;The 19th-century Brome Plantation was operated by a labor force of enslaved African Americans. In 1860, Brome owned 60 people. They lived in a group of seven quarters, only one of which, a wooden duplex with a central brick chimney, has survived. &lt;\/p&gt;&lt;hr class=\\&quot;seperatio\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;div id=\\&quot;overview\\&quot; class=\\&quot;tab-pane tab-content fade in active\\&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=\\&quot;cstm-tabconent\\&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=\\&quot;desc\\&quot;&gt;&lt;p&gt;This exhibit aims to show what the lives of African Americans were like from before the Civil War to the early 20th century, through their struggle for freedom and ultimately, the ability to live their lives as they chose.&lt;\/p&gt;&lt;\/div&gt;&lt;\/div&gt;&lt;\/div&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;br \/&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/walktogether\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.2534&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.9777&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;The_Brome_Howard&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;The Brome Howard&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/The-Inn-at-Brome-Howard1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/The-Inn-at-Brome-Howard1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;&lt;span class=\\&quot;a_GcMg font-feature-liga-off font-feature-clig-off font-feature-calt-off text-decoration-none text-strikethrough-none\\&quot;&gt;The Brome Howard (once known as St. Mary&#039;s Manor)&lt;\/span&gt; &lt;span class=\\&quot;a_GcMg font-feature-liga-off font-feature-clig-off font-feature-calt-off text-decoration-none text-strikethrough-none\\&quot;&gt;is a large Greek Revival-influenced house, built in the 1840s for Dr. John Mackall Broome. The house was the center of a large agricultural complex that encompassed almost 3000 acres, tended to by enslaved laborers and hired hands.&lt;\/span&gt; &lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.3788&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.9183&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Godiah_Spray_Tobacco_Plantation&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Godiah Spray Tobacco Plantation&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Godiah-Spray-Tobacco-Plantation1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Godiah-Spray-Tobacco-Plantation1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt; At the Plantation, it&#039;s always 1667.  Meet members of the Spray household, see heritage livestock, and tour houses, barns, and kitchen garden.   You might be invited to help with the tobacco crop!  Early Maryland was a land of tobacco plantations scattered along the rivers and creeks of the colony. The name Godiah Spray is a 17th-century term, used to describe everyman as &amp;quot;John Doe&amp;quot; does today. The Plantation is modelled on colonist Robert Cole&#039;s 1660&#039;s inventory and will, along with archaeological insight. &lt;br \/&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/map\/spraytobacco-plantation\/\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.8770&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.7780&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Plantation_Tobacco_Barns&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Plantation Tobacco Barns&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Plantation-Tobacco-Barn1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Plantation-Tobacco-Barn1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;The \\&quot;tobacco houses\\&quot; or barns are where tobacco was hung after harvest to air cure. Demonstrating what an English carpenter still learning about the Chesapeake might have built in the 1650&#039;s, the first barn is supported on stout wooden posts but has a roof of English style with heavy main rafters. The second is built using Chesapeake construction methods ca. 1675. Since labor was so expensive, carpenters soon invented ways to build structures faster and cheaper, using rafters all the same size and more simply built. &lt;br \/&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/map\/spraytobacco-plantation\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.8865&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.8142&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Tenant_House&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Tenant House&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Freemans-House1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Freemans-House1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Most people came to early Maryland as indentured servants. After completing their service, they sought to establish their own plantations. This site represents the home of a typical planter. It is basic shelter, with no refinements such as wooden floors or glass windows. Most people in early Maryland lived in buildings similar to this.&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.7545&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.8395&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Plantation_Gardens&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Plantation Gardens&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Plantation-Garden1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Plantation-Garden1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Tour the kitchen garden and learn how the colonists used plants for food, medicine, and dyeing cloth.    &lt;br \/&gt;n&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/research\/landscape-curation\/gardens\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.9122&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.8959&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Plantation_House&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Plantation House&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Plantation-House1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Plantation-House1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;The house is an example of English architecture, slightly modified for the Chesapeake environment. Supported on wooden posts instead of a solid foundation, this house has a central brick chimney, plaster walls, wood floors, and glass windows.  These refinements indicate it was owned by a successful, and well-off,  planter. &lt;br \/&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/map\/spraytobacco-plantation\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.9521&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.8902&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Chancellor&#039;s Point&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Chancellor&#039;s Point&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Chancellors-Point1.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img style=\\&quot;padding-left: 5px;padding-bottom: 5px\\&quot; src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/04\/Chancellors-Point1.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Named for 17th-century owner Chancellor Philip Calvert, this property offers spectacular views of this river and across the Potomac to Virginia. Chancellor&#039;s also offers hiking trails along the river and nearby creeks, and canoes and kayaks can be launched from its beach. Interpretive signage tells the story of this place: notable historical events, its rare Miocene fossils, 17th-century iron making, and varied Chesapeake ecology. Primitive &lt;a href=\\&quot;_wp_link_placeholder\\&quot; data-wplink-edit=\\&quot;true\\&quot;&gt;campsites&lt;\/a&gt; are available.&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.1214&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.7602&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Maryland_Dove_and_Dock&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Maryland Dove and Dock&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;p&gt;&lt;img class=\\&quot;alignnone wp-image-6103 size-medium\\&quot; src=\\&quot;https:\/\/hsmcdigshistory.imgix.net\/wp-content\/uploads\/2023\/07\/Maryland-Dove.jpg?auto=format%2Cenhance%2Ccompress&amp;amp;w=300&amp;amp;h=300\\&quot; alt=\\&quot;\\&quot; width=\\&quot;300\\&quot; height=\\&quot;300\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;span style=\\&quot;font-weight: 400\\&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Maryland Dove&lt;\/em&gt; is a reconstruction of the 17th-century coastal trading vessel that sailed to Maryland in 1634 alongside the &lt;em&gt;Ark.&lt;\/em&gt; Classed as a pinnace, the original &lt;em&gt;Dove&lt;\/em&gt; carried supplies to the new colony. Visitors to the museum are invited to step aboard and discover the role ships like &lt;em&gt;Dove&lt;\/em&gt; played in exploration, trade, and daily life in the Chesapeake. &lt;\/span&gt;&lt;br \/&gt;&lt;a href=\\&quot;https:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/research\/maritime-curation\/\\&quot;&gt; Dig Deeper&lt;\/a&gt;&lt;\/p&gt;&quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.1990&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.3094&quot;},{&quot;id&quot;:&quot;Priests_House_Ghost_Frame&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;Priests&#039; House Ghost Frame&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&lt;a href=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/11\/Priests-House-Ghost-Frame.jpg\\&quot;&gt;&lt;img src=\\&quot;http:\/\/www.hsmcdigshistory.org\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/11\/Priests-House-Ghost-Frame-150x150.jpg\\&quot; width=\\&quot;80\\&quot; align=\\&quot;left\\&quot; style=\\&quot;padding-left:5px;padding-bottom:5px\\&quot; \/&gt;&lt;\/a&gt;Archaeologists found the foundation and filled cellar of a late 17th-century building, now marked by a ghost frame, in this location. Its original purpose is uncertain but artifacts show that this was a dwelling in the ca. 1710-1730 time period. With the closure of the Brick Chapel in 1704, this building may have become a mass house, since Catholic services were allowed inside private homes.  &quot;,&quot;pin&quot;:&quot;pin-classic pin-label&quot;,&quot;style&quot;:null,&quot;action&quot;:&quot;default&quot;,&quot;x&quot;:&quot;0.8219&quot;,&quot;y&quot;:&quot;0.3903&quot;}]}],&quot;maxscale&quot;:&quot;2&quot;,&quot;smartip&quot;:false,&quot;linknewtab&quot;:false,&quot;zoomoutclose&quot;:true,&quot;closezoomout&quot;:false,&quot;searchdescription&quot;:false,&quot;thumbholder&quot;:false,&quot;hidenofilter&quot;:false,&quot;highlight&quot;:false,&quot;styles&quot;:[{&quot;base&quot;:{&quot;fill&quot;:&quot;&quot;},&quot;hover&quot;:{&quot;fill&quot;:&quot;&quot;},&quot;active&quot;:{&quot;fill&quot;:&quot;&quot;},&quot;class&quot;:&quot;new_map&quot;}],&quot;portrait&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;zoommargin&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;height&quot;:&quot;100%&quot;,&quot;defaultstyle&quot;:&quot;new_map&quot;}\" data-height=\"auto\"><\/div>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"","protected":false},"author":1,"featured_media":0,"parent":12,"menu_order":0,"comment_status":"closed","ping_status":"closed","template":"statictemplate.php","meta":{"footnotes":""},"class_list":["post-1719","page","type-page","status-publish","hentry"],"yoast_head":"<!-- This site is optimized with the Yoast SEO plugin v22.1 - https:\/\/yoast.com\/wordpress\/plugins\/seo\/ -->\n<title>Interactive Map &#8211; The Experience &#8211; Historic St. Mary&#039;s City - A Museum of History &amp; Archaeology at Maryland&#039;s First Capital<\/title>\n<meta name=\"description\" content=\"You\u2019ll love this interactive map of Historic St. Mary\u2019s City in Southern Maryland. Shows museum sites, hiking trails and points of interest.\" \/>\n<meta name=\"robots\" content=\"index, follow, max-snippet:-1, max-image-preview:large, max-video-preview:-1\" \/>\n<link rel=\"canonical\" href=\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:locale\" content=\"en_US\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:type\" content=\"article\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:title\" content=\"Interactive Map &#8211; The Experience &#8211; Historic St. Mary&#039;s City - A Museum of History &amp; Archaeology at Maryland&#039;s First Capital\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:description\" content=\"You\u2019ll love this interactive map of Historic St. Mary\u2019s City in Southern Maryland. Shows museum sites, hiking trails and points of interest.\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:url\" content=\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:site_name\" content=\"Historic St. Mary&#039;s City\" \/>\n<meta property=\"article:publisher\" content=\"https:\/\/www.facebook.com\/HistoricStMarysCity\" \/>\n<meta property=\"article:modified_time\" content=\"2021-03-01T16:40:36+00:00\" \/>\n<meta name=\"twitter:card\" content=\"summary_large_image\" \/>\n<script type=\"application\/ld+json\" class=\"yoast-schema-graph\">{\"@context\":\"https:\/\/schema.org\",\"@graph\":[{\"@type\":\"WebPage\",\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/\",\"url\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/\",\"name\":\"Interactive Map &#8211; The Experience &#8211; Historic St. Mary&#039;s City - A Museum of History & Archaeology at Maryland's First Capital\",\"isPartOf\":{\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#website\"},\"datePublished\":\"2021-03-01T09:47:10+00:00\",\"dateModified\":\"2021-03-01T16:40:36+00:00\",\"description\":\"You\u2019ll love this interactive map of Historic St. Mary\u2019s City in Southern Maryland. Shows museum sites, hiking trails and points of interest.\",\"breadcrumb\":{\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/#breadcrumb\"},\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\",\"potentialAction\":[{\"@type\":\"ReadAction\",\"target\":[\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/\"]}]},{\"@type\":\"BreadcrumbList\",\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/#breadcrumb\",\"itemListElement\":[{\"@type\":\"ListItem\",\"position\":1,\"name\":\"Home\",\"item\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/\"},{\"@type\":\"ListItem\",\"position\":2,\"name\":\"The Experience\",\"item\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/\"},{\"@type\":\"ListItem\",\"position\":3,\"name\":\"Interactive Map\"}]},{\"@type\":\"WebSite\",\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#website\",\"url\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/\",\"name\":\"Historic St. Mary&#039;s City\",\"description\":\"\",\"publisher\":{\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#organization\"},\"potentialAction\":[{\"@type\":\"SearchAction\",\"target\":{\"@type\":\"EntryPoint\",\"urlTemplate\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/?s={search_term_string}\"},\"query-input\":\"required name=search_term_string\"}],\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\"},{\"@type\":\"Organization\",\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#organization\",\"name\":\"Historic St. Mary's City\",\"url\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/\",\"logo\":{\"@type\":\"ImageObject\",\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\",\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#\/schema\/logo\/image\/\",\"url\":\"https:\/\/hsmcdigshistory.imgix.net\/wp-content\/uploads\/2020\/04\/logo.png?auto=format%2Cenhance%2Ccompress\",\"contentUrl\":\"https:\/\/hsmcdigshistory.imgix.net\/wp-content\/uploads\/2020\/04\/logo.png?auto=format%2Cenhance%2Ccompress\",\"width\":200,\"height\":67,\"caption\":\"Historic St. Mary's City\"},\"image\":{\"@id\":\"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#\/schema\/logo\/image\/\"},\"sameAs\":[\"https:\/\/www.facebook.com\/HistoricStMarysCity\"]}]}<\/script>\n<!-- \/ Yoast SEO plugin. -->","yoast_head_json":{"title":"Interactive Map &#8211; The Experience &#8211; Historic St. Mary&#039;s City - A Museum of History & Archaeology at Maryland's First Capital","description":"You\u2019ll love this interactive map of Historic St. Mary\u2019s City in Southern Maryland. Shows museum sites, hiking trails and points of interest.","robots":{"index":"index","follow":"follow","max-snippet":"max-snippet:-1","max-image-preview":"max-image-preview:large","max-video-preview":"max-video-preview:-1"},"canonical":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/","og_locale":"en_US","og_type":"article","og_title":"Interactive Map &#8211; The Experience &#8211; Historic St. Mary&#039;s City - A Museum of History & Archaeology at Maryland's First Capital","og_description":"You\u2019ll love this interactive map of Historic St. Mary\u2019s City in Southern Maryland. Shows museum sites, hiking trails and points of interest.","og_url":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/","og_site_name":"Historic St. Mary&#039;s City","article_publisher":"https:\/\/www.facebook.com\/HistoricStMarysCity","article_modified_time":"2021-03-01T16:40:36+00:00","twitter_card":"summary_large_image","schema":{"@context":"https:\/\/schema.org","@graph":[{"@type":"WebPage","@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/","url":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/","name":"Interactive Map &#8211; The Experience &#8211; Historic St. Mary&#039;s City - A Museum of History & Archaeology at Maryland's First Capital","isPartOf":{"@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#website"},"datePublished":"2021-03-01T09:47:10+00:00","dateModified":"2021-03-01T16:40:36+00:00","description":"You\u2019ll love this interactive map of Historic St. Mary\u2019s City in Southern Maryland. Shows museum sites, hiking trails and points of interest.","breadcrumb":{"@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/#breadcrumb"},"inLanguage":"en-US","potentialAction":[{"@type":"ReadAction","target":["https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/"]}]},{"@type":"BreadcrumbList","@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/interactive-map\/#breadcrumb","itemListElement":[{"@type":"ListItem","position":1,"name":"Home","item":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/"},{"@type":"ListItem","position":2,"name":"The Experience","item":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/the-experience\/"},{"@type":"ListItem","position":3,"name":"Interactive Map"}]},{"@type":"WebSite","@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#website","url":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/","name":"Historic St. Mary&#039;s City","description":"","publisher":{"@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#organization"},"potentialAction":[{"@type":"SearchAction","target":{"@type":"EntryPoint","urlTemplate":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/?s={search_term_string}"},"query-input":"required name=search_term_string"}],"inLanguage":"en-US"},{"@type":"Organization","@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#organization","name":"Historic St. Mary's City","url":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/","logo":{"@type":"ImageObject","inLanguage":"en-US","@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#\/schema\/logo\/image\/","url":"https:\/\/hsmcdigshistory.imgix.net\/wp-content\/uploads\/2020\/04\/logo.png?auto=format%2Cenhance%2Ccompress","contentUrl":"https:\/\/hsmcdigshistory.imgix.net\/wp-content\/uploads\/2020\/04\/logo.png?auto=format%2Cenhance%2Ccompress","width":200,"height":67,"caption":"Historic St. Mary's City"},"image":{"@id":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/#\/schema\/logo\/image\/"},"sameAs":["https:\/\/www.facebook.com\/HistoricStMarysCity"]}]}},"post_mailing_queue_ids":[],"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/1719","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/page"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/1"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=1719"}],"version-history":[{"count":2,"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/1719\/revisions"}],"predecessor-version":[{"id":1839,"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/1719\/revisions\/1839"}],"up":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/12"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/ded3712.inmotionhosting.com\/~hsmcdigshistory\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=1719"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}